top of page

"I was still focused on minimizing flaws and fitting into a beauty box. Only this box had muscl


‘I remember a time when “Strong is the New Skinny” made me want to throw up a fist pump. As a girl who’s always been muscular, it was refreshing. “Yes!” I thought. “Finally, biceps and thunder quads have a place on the beauty podium, too!” So, instead of idolizing super-thin women with long legs, visible collar bones and hip bones, I started filling my world with images of lean, cut, muscular women. It felt inspiring. They were “healthy,” right? This was decidedly better. I threw out my scale, but then I started measuring “success” by body-fat percentage and whether my six-pack was visible. I spent the same amount of time in the mirror and felt guilty if I had to miss a workout. All the energy I had invested in looking skinny now went into looking cut. I had the same disordered relationship with food, only this time it was about fueling my body and trying to make it leaner. I was leaner, but no happier. I was just as distracted and insecure as before. On days I felt lean I felt better about myself, but on days when I’d gained a pound or two, I felt awful. Still, I fist pumped to “Strong is the New Skinny,” thinking that my current circumstances were better and healthier than before. But the truth was, nothing had really changed: I’d just replaced one beauty ideal with another and was constantly fighting my body to achieve a look I believed would make me more worthy. I was just as preoccupied with my body as before: Despite feeling badass and strong, I still didn’t look like the women in the images I collected. I was still focused on minimizing flaws and fitting into a beauty box. Only this box had muscles.’- Chichi Kix


Nu we weten wat Strong is the New Skinny is, waardoor het ontstaan is en de positieve en negatieve kanten ervan, heb je waarschijnlijk wel een mening kunnen vormen. Komende week zullen er posts volgen met mijn menig en die van anderen. Laat je vooral niet weerhouden om ook jouw mening te delen! Je kan hieronder of via facebook reageren.




-XOXO- Kirsten

Follow #SitNS

MADE BY KIRSTEN
WITH LOVE

MY VIDEOS

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

MY PAPER ABOUT STRONG IS THE NEW SKINNY

bottom of page